We’ve all had our lives put on hold in one way or another due to Covid-19, which included our selection committee not being able to meet in person to review the 2019/2020 applications for funding.

It was our intention to hold our 3rd Annual Fundraiser at The Spirit Bar in Nelson back in April, where we would have gathered to celebrate another great season, remembered Nyle and publicly announced this year’s successful funding recipients.  

But alas, we weren’t able to do that.  

However, we were able to review the applications.  Last year we reached out to 11 industry professionals and asked them to recommend members of their staff who might be worthy candidates for funding.  We received 6 recommendations for applicants who met the criteria and unanimously decided to fund them all.

We are happy to announce the 2019/2020 NMCBDF   recipients, assisting them with their backcountry skill development training costs!  

Congratulations to: 

  • Gabe Carpendale – Selkirk
  • Mike Wigley – Keefer Lake
  • Scott Beauchamp – Baldface
  • Tristan Kodors – Kingfisher
  • Fannie Dufour – Monashee
  • Tara Morris – Carlyle & Valhalla

We know it’s been a difficult year for everyone, and that includes our intrepid back country colleagues, guides, and industry professionals.  Even the most optimistic outdoor recreational enthusiasts have had to reinvent themselves this year.  Some backcountry businesses are preparing to operate at reduced capacity, some are postponing their operations until early in the New Year, while others are deferring all operations until the 2021/2022 season!  

We wish everyone the best as they navigate this new terrain.

We’ll be meeting early in the New Year, probably via Zoom, and will let you know as soon as we have a date for our 2021 fundraiser! 

In the meantime, we’re staying home, staying positive and doing our best to stay healthy.

All the best from the NMCBDF Board of Directors:

  • Lynn van Deursen
  • Natalia Skiba
  • Jeff Reyden
  • Joaquin Klein
  • Hayden Markin
  • and our esteemed Advisory Committee Members
  • Lars Chose
  • Susan Mulkey